top of page

Cook Islands

Anchor 1
About the Cook Islands

The Cook Islands is located in the South Pacific Ocean, and the country comprises of 15 individual islands spread across a large geographic area. The Islands have two main groups, the Northern and Southern Island Groups.  The majority of the outer islands are inhabited with people and thriving businesses to support the local communities.


Some facts about the Cook Islands:


  • Capital:  Avarua and Rarotonga is the gateway and economic hub.

  • Currency: New Zealand Dollars (NZD)

  • Banks:  Bank of the Cook Islands (BCI), ANZ Cook Islands and Bank of South Pacific (BSP).  There are also several ATM facilities within the Cook Islands.

  • Language: Cook Islands Maori and English.

  • The Cook Islands has its own government in free association with New Zealand.

  • Visitors are not required to obtain an entry permit if they intend to stay in the Cook Islands for less than 31 days and must have proof of a return ticket.


For all other information relating to what to do in the Cook Islands check out Cook Island Tourism.

all ci.png
bottom of page